Lamp . . . Light – April 18, 2024

Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path. Psalm 119:105

Psalm 89

Psalm 89:1 I will sing of the LORD’s great love forever, with my mouth I will make know your faithfulness through all generations. NIV.

Think about it. Here we have an unknown musician, probably around the time of King David. All we know is that Ethan was an Ezrahite. Yet, this obscure Biblical figure received God’s inspiration and wrote a song of praise recorded in God’s Word. This should give all of us consolation and a great assurance that regardless of our lack of fame, God can, will, and does use us to carry on His mission to our world.

What I find fascinating is that as Ethan prepares to recount many of God’s marvelous interactions with His people, he offers a longing to make known God’s faithfulness through all generations. That is a grand aspiration, far beyond most of my own. An what does God do? He grants Ethan’s longing and causes this song of praise to be included in the ancient Hebrew’s hymnal. Thus, Ethan’s recitation of God’s faithfulness has been proclaimed to every generation of believers since then. That’s probable around 3,000 years of people praising God because of the skill Ethan employed in crafting this song.

What hope this is for us in the twenty-first century. Many of us have honed artistic abilities of many kinds – music, poetry, prose, visual arts, and dance. When we offer these to God as tools in His hand and for His glory, what might God do to extend our offerings to the next generations? I am deeply grateful for the legacy of faith I have received and also feel a tremendous responsibility to pass a legacy of faith on to others. My hope and prayer is that God will use my writing and editing abilities to further others spiritual growth in character and service.

God, take my talents and refine my efforts so that You work through me; dare I say to all generations? Your will, not mine be done. Amen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional

Leave a comment