Lamp . . . Light – April 29, 2024

Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path. Psalm 119:105

Proverbs 1

Proverbs 1:3 for acquiring a disciplined and prudent life, doing what is right and just. NIV.

I read Proverbs on a monthly schedule. Today I experienced a spiritual de ja vou. Yesterday I meditated on the 31st chapter and the description of the virtuous woman. I concluded God was not dictating what a woman must do, rather describing how a person can apply wisdom to the practical affairs of life. Today I consider Solomon’s stated rationale for the entire book. In this verse alone he provides five results of acquiring wisdom. They are: developing consistent discipline; becoming prudent in perspective; doing what is right; living a just life; and being fair in one’s relationships. (If you have time do this exercise of Proverbs 31. Use five colored highlighters or pencils, assign a color for each result, and then highlight each result the virtuous woman exhibits.)

If I am to accurately apply the book of Proverbs to my life, I can examine how I express these characteristics. Here are some reflections questions:

  1. Disciplined life: How consistent am I in my sleep schedule? Do I retire at an appropriate time to maximize my rest? How punctual am I to appointments, work, church, and meetings? How often do I feel I have spent too much time on social media? How consistently do I connect with God in Bible reading, prayer, and medication? How intentional am I in spending time with my spouse, children, and close friends? How consistently do I work toward my highest priority goals?
  2. Prudence: What have I come to see as God’s overarching purpose for me and my life? When I make decisions and goals, how consistently do I prioritize based on fulfilling God’s overarching purpose? How easily to I say, “no” to commitments which either do not directly further God’s purpose in my life or which actively undermine that purpose? How frequently do I ask God to show me His will for my day and the power to do it?
  3. Doing what is right: Am I committed to accepting God’s direction as to what is right and wrong? How frequently when faced with life’s challenges do I look to the Bible and wise godly friends for advice on the correct path to take? When I do something wrong, how quickly to I acknowledge that and correct my actions?
  4. A just life: Do I make excuses when I mistakes or take personal responsibility for my actions? When someone asks my opinion, how honest and forthright am I in my response, or do I try to say what the other person wants to hear? Do I forgive others as God has forgiven me? How consistent are my standards of behavior for others as compared for myself?
  5. Fair in relationships: How frequently am I judgmental toward others and how often do I forgive and affirm them? Do I criticize others more often than I thank them or ask clarifying questions? Do I try to motivate people by sarcasm as opposed to stating facts and expectations? How negative (expecting the worst in others) am I instead of looking for the good in people? Would others describe me as a complainer or as someone who attempts to see the good in live?  How often do I gossip about others rather than speak with them directly to resolve and issue or support someone who struggles.

My hope is these questions will facilitate our growth in practical wisdom in daily living.

Let me grow in wise practical live and so become a beacon of light in a darkened world. Amen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional

Leave a comment