Lamp . . . Light – April 17, 2024

Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path. Psalm 119:105

John 15

John 15:10, 12, 13 If you obey my commands . . . My command is this: Love each other as I have love you. Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends. NIV.

Like some reading this, I also have an analytic bent to my personality and quest for knowledge and understanding. When I read a chapter, I want to understand what is the core concept and what might be the key concept to unlock the meaning of that which I read. One a larger scale, when I read the gospels, I desire to know what are Jesus’ core expectations of His disciples, of which I am one. Once I determine that core concept, I am better able to formulate a plan for living which will best help me become the person who lovingly follows and serves his Redeemer.

One of the primary metaphors in John 15 is that of a branch and a vine. Jesus in this means illustrates our relationship with Him. We must abide in Him to produce a life of meaning and ministry in this world. Much has been discussed in this chapter about the nature of abiding. For some it is a mystical experience of deep communion with Christ. For others is practical actions to cultivate Christian character (the fruit). For some the fruit is people brought to faith in Christ through evangelism. Proponents of these latter two views often seem to present their views as an either/or proposition.

I believe the both/and option provides the best understanding of the concept of abiding to produce fruit. But the fruit is my (our) embodiment of Christ-like love. We are to take the actions of love for God’s people, even as Jesus died for people who did not yet believe in Him. So, I also am to offer to God my petty ambitions and die to myself in order to be available to comfort, encourage, and validate all people in Jesus’ name.

I wrap myself in Jesus’ love so that love flowing in and through me may draw people to the One who is worthy above all. Amen

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional

Leave a comment