Lamp . . . Light – April 16, 2024

Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path. Psalm 119:105

Proverbs 22

Proverbs 22:17-19 . . . apply your heart to what I teach, . . . so that your trust may be in the LORD . . . NIV.

Usually, each verse in proverbs stands alone. So, the principle of examining the context to understand a verse frequently is inapplicable when we read this book. The thoughts for this devotional come from a three-verse unit and the context of any one of the verses is related to the whole.

As surprising and unusual as it may be Solomon here, twenty-one chapters after his introduction, returns to the rationale for his writing. Perhaps he felt this was a good time to remind his readers of the purpose for the book. Anyone who has taught (or preached) understanded the importance of repetition. So, Solomon tells us that the wisdom he offers comes with a price. He desires us, the readers, to grow in our trust of God as demonstrated by a life of obedience, worship, service, integrity, and growth.

I want my wisdom like I want my patience – NOW!. In contrast Solomon stresses that wisdom is gained only by “applying your heart.” This means if I am to grow in wisdom I need to engage in hard work and disciplined activity over time. That last part requires the gift of patience and companions. Patience because I often have to relearn lessons for them to stick. Companions because I need the counsel of people who have learned the lessons of godly living to walk with me. I also need to share freely what God has (and still is) taught me with people who also want to grow in grace and wisdom, yet are not as far along as I.

Father, today I commit to undertaking what is needed to learn to apply the wisdom of Your Word to my daily life. Amen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional

Leave a comment