Lamp . . . Light – April 25, 2024

Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path. Psalm 119:105

Proverbs 29

Proverbs 29:26 Many seek an audience with a ruler, but it is from the LORD that man gets justice. NIV.

We live in a goal-oriented world. This includes the desire for justice for the oppressed, the trafficked, and the disenfranchised. In our culture we will impanel a group to examine the problem, determine the root causes, explore alternatives for solutions, and to present a plan, which will be implemented by another group. Personally, when wronged or advocation for another, I consider the problem, ask others for advice, plan a strategy to resolve the issue. Then I implement that plan, with or without the aid of others. In this implementation I may advocate, appeal for others to join the cause, connive, badger people, and mobilize other to actively pursue a solution.

When I act this way, I frequently end up physically, emotionally, and spiritually exhausted. A major source of that depletion derives from the assumption that I am responsible for restoring justice to this world. Like the person, referred to in this psalm, who presents a petition to the king for justice and for whom the psalmist reminds that justice comes ultimately from God. The psalmist encourages this individual to rely not on their own persuasiveness but upon God.

Does that mean any appeals to authority are prohibited? I believe not. This passage refers to an inner attitude. God desires that we rely upon Him and turn to Him. I am grateful I life in a free society where seeking redress for wrongs is an acceptable option. People like Wilberforce advocated over many years for the abolition of slavery before God granted success. If God grants people a passion for that level of involvement, God will also provide the grace and strength to persevere while relying on God.

Ultimately our hope rests in the hope that one day a heavenly trumpet will blow, clouds will open like a massive door, and Jesus will return. At that moment, every person, living and dead, will bow in complete submission to the Lord will judge with righteousness.

May I live a life of personal devotion to Christ and His justice, even as I work for God’s justice to be fulfilled on earth as it is in heaven. Amen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional

Leave a comment