Writing ebb and flow

 

Molasses isn’t just slow in January. My writing today has been like that proverbial molasses; maybe even slower. Yesterday I had greater pressure to make the best use of my time. Today I had more time and filled it with other things, most of them good things, but writing seemed to find a cozy niche on the back burner. Could be I need time to simmer. Could be I just needed to relax.

Maybe I missed the pressure of the challenge obstacles bring to my writing. There’s a saying I heard a long time ago. “Meetings expand to fill the time allotted to them.” My writing expands to fill the time allotted to it. So when I had limited time (like yesterday) I used my time more efficiently. Today with a day off, I leisurely meandered through my day. Anything and everything but writing seemed more interesting and more intriguing.

Days like yesterday when I am in the writer’s flow are rare. I’m not surprised that I didn’t find the rhythm today. I may not get back into the flow this Nano. That is not the point. And I didn’t have writer’s block today. When I wrote I had no problem getting the words out and have completed well over 2,500 words. Today I accept my writing is what it is and go with it.

Two of the best distractions of the day were my grandchildren. I’ll call them Lizzy and Tommy. Both of them seemed especially desirous of my undivided attention. Tommy is smaller (only nine months old) so when my wife leave he needs more supervision. Lizzy won’t take “no” for an answer and today was particularly in my face. So, I’m not blaming them, I made the choice to put them first.

Since mornings are my prime time I lost that with grandchildren and the fatigue of the day caught up with me in the afternoon. Finally I regained some energy, my second wind after my wife left for a dental appointment.

One of the new motivations I have enlisted to challenge my writing this year is to incorporate the daily writing prompt one of the Nano Municipal Liaisons is posting. These have been anything from “scent of smoke” to “a dozen wilted yellow roses” and todays particularly special “manacled to a radiator.” I have managed to logically include all the prompts. Someone even commented that one of my pieces made them laugh.

Ah, to give pleasure by writing. That’s what it is about, isn’t it?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

